Specialists

Literacy Specialist:

Jennifer Allen - jallen@watervillek12.org - University of Vermont Bachelor of Science in Education; University of Maine Master in Literacy Education; Waterville Public Schools since 1991 - Grade 3 Teacher 1991-2000; Literacy Specialist/Coach 2000 to Present; Distingushed Educator New England Reading Association 2008; Author of Becoming a Literacy Leader: Supporting Learning and Change (2006) and A Sense on Belongning: Sustaining and Retaining New Teachers (2009). I love reading, baking, and jogging. A lasting memory is running the Boston Marathon in 2008 with my family cheering me on.

Literacy Teacher K-2:

Elaine Breton - ebreton@watervillek12.org - I grew up in Waterville and attended the Waterville Public Schools. It was a positive and enriching experience and that's why I decided that teaching in Waterville was exactly what I wanted as a professional educator. I attended the University of Maine at Orono for the completion of my Bachelor's Degree in Child Development and my Master's Degree in Elementary Education. I have a second Master's Degree in Literacy from New England College. I began in Waterville as a Title 1 Technician in the area of Literacy and have taught in several grades including first, second, multiage and looping settings. I have been a member of the Waterville teaching staff for over 23 years and have enjoyed it more each year. I reside in Waterville with my husband Jeff and son Nathan. We enjoy hiking, water sports and traveling as a family. My interests include cooking, shopping, reading and long peaceful walks in our neighborhood.

Math Specialist:

Debbie Cook - dcook@watervillek12.org - I received my Bachelor’s Degree from Gustavus Adolphus College in 1978 with a major in Elementary Education and a minor in math. My Master’s Degree in Educational Administration is from the University of Southern Maine. (1985) I taught 2nd, 3rd, and 4th grade in SAD #54 for 19 years from 1978-1997. In 1997 I started teaching 3rd grade at the George J. Mitchell School and I taught in that position for eight years. Since 2005 I have been working as the K-5 Math Specialist at the Mitchell School and the Albert S. Hall School. I live in Waterville with my husband, Randy. I have two grown children, Ryan and Chelsey.

Cindy McNeil - ESOL - cmcneil@watervillek12.org

Sherri Carey - Computer Lab - scarey@watervillek12.org - I graduated from Thomas College with my degree in Business Education going back to achieve my Masters in Computer Technology for Education and also my Masters in Education. I have since been pursuing a PhD in Educational Technology and an currently ABD. I taught at the high school level for 15 years before moving to the GJMS to teach technology. I consider myself a lifelong learner and continue to educate myself using technology whenever possible. In addition to my constant drive for learning, I educate students using technology on a daily basis. My desire to learn helps inspire other students to be life long learners just like me. Winslow is my home and it is also where I grew up. I graduated from Winslow High School. My daughter, Katiann, graduated from Winslow High School and is attending Simmons College in Boston. My son is currently at Winslow High School. I enjoy anything outside and am always down for adventure. I especially love skiing at Sugarloaf and wakeboarding during the summer.

Peter Quirion - PE - pquirion@watervillek12.org - I started my post-secondary education at the University of Maine. I received my BS.Degree in. Physical Education and Health in 1989..I then did my student teaching assignment in the Old Town School System. I have taught in the Hallowell and Augusta schools before coming to Waterville in 1999. I currently teach Physical Education at the GJMS and ASHS. I live in Augusta with my wife and three daughters.


Jeremy White - PE - jwhite@watervillek12.org

Robin King - Art - rking@watervillek12.org - I have a BA in Art from Colby College. I worked for several years as a dessert chef before pursuing a teaching certificate at the University of Maine at Orono. For 18 years, I taught art for Msad #49 at Albion Elementary School. I began teaching at the George Mitchell School in 2006. I live in Fairfield with my husband, Jack Gondela, who is a self-employed carpenter. I am a metal sculptor and enjoy many leisurely activities, including running, gardening, hiking, gourmet cooking, snowshoeing, and spending time at the lake in the summer.

Lisa Wheeler - Art - lwheeler@watervillek12.org

Edie Keller - Library - ekeller@watervillek12.org

Martha Moyer - Library - mmoyer@watervillek12.org

Mary Matteson - Music - mmatteson@watervillek12.org - Bachelor of Science in Music Education, Geneva College, Beaver Falls, Pa. 1976. MALS, WesleyanUniversity, Middletown, Ct. 1982. Orff-Schulwerk Level I Certification, Hamline University, St. Paul, Minn. 1990. I began my music teaching career in New Milford, Ct. in 1976. After moving to Maine in 1987, I taught in Waterville for 2 years. I then moved on to SAD 49 and School Union 52 (China) before returning to Waterville in the fall of 2007. Married to David Matteson (Waterville Jr. High Art Teacher) and mother of two sons, Evan and Tanner. We live in China and have two cats, Mystery and Panther.