Special Education

Wendy Baker - Resource Room - wbaker@aos92.org - Bachelor’s degree from Furman University in Greenville, South Carolina in 1976. I was a combined Special Education and Elementary Education Major. I specialized in the field of Learning Disabilities. Master’s Degree in Educational Administration from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1980. I taught special education in Greenville, South Carolina, Randolph, Vermont and Vassalboro, Maine before coming to the George J. Mitchell School in 1995.

Amber Campbell - Day Treatment - acampbell@aos92.org

Sarah Fletcher - Resource Room - safletcher@aos92.org

Holly Morgan - Resource Room - hmorgan@aos92.org - I earned a Bachelor's degree in Special Education with a concentration of Math from the University of Maine at Farmington in 2002 and a Master's Degree in Special Education from New England College in 2001. I started teaching in Somerville, ME in 2002. I worked there for 4 years. Then I worked at Chelsea Elementary school for two years and China Middle school for 1 year. I have been teaching at the George J. Mitchell School since 2009. I reside in South China, ME with my two children Jaelyn and Owen. I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. In my spare time I like to play softball. My passion is working with children and their families.

Caryn Murphy - Resource Room - cmurphy@aos92.org - I began my career in special education in 1990 by earning my Bachelor’s Degree from U.M.F. I majored in Special Education and minored in Psychology. I have been teaching students with mild to severe disabilities at the Mitchell School since the fall of 1990. In 1997, I received my Master’s Degree, also in Special Education, from U.M.O. As part of my graduate program, I took the required courses to be trained as a Reading Recovery teacher. So, for a few years, I taught special education half time and reading the other half of the day to struggling readers receiving Title One support. For the majority of my career, I have been teaching special education, full time, working with a variety of abilities and disabilities. Currently, I continue to learn and grow as an educator by attending several conferences each year in the area of special education, with a heavy emphasis on researched based practices for students with Autism.

Jacob Sears - Resource Room - jsears@aos92.org - I earned my Bachelor’s degree from the University of Maine at Farmington in 2012. I majored in special education with a minor in psychology. During my senior year, I completed my student teaching at the George J. Mitchell school. In the fall of 2012, I began teaching in the resource room at Waterville Jr High. I worked at the Jr High for three years before transferring to the Mitchell school in 2015.

Louise Hamelin - Speech - lhamelin@aos92.org - I graduated from Ellsworth High School and did a year abroad as an AFS exchange student in Belgium where my experience in trying to understand and speak Flemish gave me a taste of how frustrating it can be to have communication difficulties and differences. I then earned a BA in Communication Sciences and a BS in Elementary Education from the University of Maine in Orono. I received my Masters of Science in Communication Disorders from the University of Vermont in 2000. I worked at the Warren Center for Communication and Learning in Bangor, ME for a year before coming to Waterville Public Schools in 2001. I live in Waterville with my husband and two sons. My favorite activities are reading to my children, relaxing by the ocean, and getting together with family for fun and good food. I also enjoy traveling, hiking in Acadia, and musical theater.

Kathy Merrill - Speech - kmerrill@aos92.org - I attended the University of Maine at Farmington and earned my Bachelor of Science degree in 1980 with a dual certification in Communication Disorders/Elementary Education. I earned my Master of Arts degree in Communication Disorders from the University of Maine at Orono in 1995. I have been working for Waterville Public Schools since 1982. I live with my husband Charles. We have two adult sons, Neal and Daniel. I love spending time with family, reading, crafting, flower gardening and camping.

Liz Doyon - Speech Assistant - ldoyon@aos92.org

Linda Wilson - Physical Therapy - lwilson@aos92.org - Graduated from University of Vermont with degree in Physical Therapy in 1985; Certification for Assistive Technology Professional since 2009. I have been employed as the district physical therapist in both Waterville and Messalonskee Public Schools since 2001.

Misty Bachelder - Occupational Therapy - mbachelder@aos92.org - I graduated from Husson University with my masters in OT in 2012. While going to college for my bachelor’s degree I started to work in the school system. I worked as an OT assistant in the school system while obtaining not only my applied social behavioral degree but also my masters degree. I completed a fieldwork at the Margret Murphy Center working with Children from birth to high school age. I have a total of 10 years experience in the school system as an OT assistant and 3 years experience as an OT in the schools. I have taken classes in the Handwriting Without Tears program and have given several different classes on the program. I have also done several other training including the postural reflex and integration course, and sensory integration.

Brooke Lancaster - Occupational Therapy - I graduated from the University of Southern Maine with my Masters in OT in 2016. I have my Bachelors degree in Health Sciences. I have previous fieldwork experience in the school setting and several years of experience working with children. I live with my husband Josh and our dog Lucy.